Reply to this topicStart new topic
> NTC and the Market Cleansing Scam
Simon Kirby
post Mar 15 2013, 08:23 PM
Post #1

Advanced Member

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,011

I've been banging on for several years now about how NTC and WBC have operated a democracry-dodging scam with the Charter Market cleansing contract - well, I seem to have got a result by bringing that to light and the Town Council have stopped it, saving the Newbury tax-payer the best part of £50k.

It worked like this: NTC put £50k on the town council precept and they charge it to the Charter Market head as a "cleansing contract", only they don't tender for the best value cleaning contractor, they just make an arrangement with West Berkshire Council to do a bit of sweeping up in exchange for the cash. WBC are happy because they make a substantial profit on the cost of a man with a broom for two afternoons a week and the profit circumvents central government limits on the council-tax they set because the town council precept isn't actually council tax, it's a separate charge collected with the council tax by WBC on behalf of NTC, and NTC can set whatever precept they like. NTC are happy because in exchange for the deal they hope to win some tasty snibbits of busy-work off WBC to add to their burgeoning administration empire.

The down-side for the Town Council is that the ridiculously inflated cleansing contract makes the Charter Market look ludicrously expensive because the running costs far outstrip the rental revenue, but that's not really a problem for the council unless anyone takes a close look - and of course asking questions about the accounts gets you declared a vexatious complainant and that pretty effectively silences any protest.

So now the contract has been stopped and the market traders just take their own rubbish away - just like they do in other markets.